De Souza, Tchaikovsky & Mendelssohn
Begins 1678233600


The National Arts Centre Orchestra hosts the Southam Hall debuts of Montreal-born conductor Jordan de Souza and Italian violinist Francesca Dego.

Francesca Dego is one of the most sought-after violinists on the international scene, thanks to her compelling interpretations and flawless technique. For this concert, she performs Felix Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor, which the composer took over five years to complete. Dego demonstrates why this beautiful work was a hit from its very first performance.

Few other works have provoked as much speculation on meaning and message as Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, given that the great composer, who desperately wanted to leave behind his wildly popular The Nutcracker, died only nine days after the symphony’s premiere. What is certain beyond doubt is that Tchaikovsky’s masterful Symphony No. 6 was the favourite composition of his life, his crowning achievement, and a work he loved above all others.

All the



National Arts Centre Southam Hall 1 Elgin Street, Ottawa, ON


March 8th to March 9th 8:00 PM EST


More information