An Alpine Symphony
Begins 1683676800


Montreal-based composer Keiko Devaux is an NAC Orchestra Carrefour composer resident whose approach to composition embraces a love of electroacoustic sounds and “genre-blurring.” The NAC Orchestra is proud to perform the world premiere of her new work.

This concert closes with Richard Strauss’s tone poem An Alpine Symphony, the great composer’s orchestral rendering of the alpine landscape—rousingly rugged in one passage and delicate as snowfall in the next. An Alpine Symphony paints with music the majesty of icy mountains and silent winter nights, and perfectly demonstrates how artists have always listened to the Earth and endeavoured to capture the exquisite beauty of our planet.

The NAC Orchestra is proud to present this concert as part of NACO’s Mentorship Program. Now in its second year, this program provides aspiring young orchestral musicians three immersive and inspiring weeks working side by side with NACO musicians in a professional orchestra setting. The evening’s performance also serves as a fitting bookend to NACO’s year-long exploration of the Orchestra as an ecosystem and the ways in which music and art can serve as inspiration for a way forward in the climate crisis.

All the



National Arts Centre, Southam Hall, 1 Elgin Street


May 10th to May 11th


More information